moonlit thoughts

1.jpg

Moonlit thoughts

You know when you wake up in the middle of the night, and the moon is seeping in through the blinds, how it pierces the darkness with it’s light

There’s something so comforting and beautiful about that… I love that moon that shines through my old blinds every night, with our Creator holding it all together. It seeps in and fills my eyes with a soft kind of light, it fills me with wonder, it leaves my soul with a sense of peace, a sense of more of You…

& if I wake at just the right time every
morning, the sky slowly fades into a shade of pink, then a little yellow and orange is painted in as the sun is barely peaking through. It finds me as I search, and I grin, as it hits my face. Ah, there you are again, I say. Like a dear friend.

When I awake in the stillness of this moment, and as it passes me by, it’s almost as if it is saying “it’s a new day”  I don’t know what is to come, but I can always plan on the stillness of the morning sun, the quietness of the moonlit night. Today there may be smiles, today there may be tears, but when I bring myself back to those moonlit or morning sun moments- I feel that still peace somewhere within. He holds it all together. He has the whole world in His hands. He is holding you and me. And even if it is the smallest moments, He is there. & it’s funny, because it’s usually those seemingly small moments that comfort and teach my heart the most.

Like a child I used to sing, “He’s got the whole world in His hands.” Today I’m 22, and I have to remind myself those lyrics every day. He is still on His throne. He always will be. He has it all in His hands. No matter the age, that childhood song rings true. He is the one thing that stays the same.

Those special moments lead my heart to You… My rock, my creator, my safe place. No matter if the sun is shining or the storm is raging, He promises He is there, even when we struggle to believe it, He says He is… whispering “be still, dear child…”

“The Lord your God is in your midst, A victorious warrior. He will exult over you with joy, He will be quiet in His love, He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy.”  (Zephaniah 3:17)

*** (photo credit: https://www.shutterstock.com/video/clip-2748929-stock-footage-timelapse-moonlit-sky-cloudscape-hd.html) 

Leave a comment